Basic boating class

Educational Store Calendar Vessel Safety Checks Newsletters About Us

Our Educational Offerings:

Basic Boating Class Navigation and Seamanship Seminars On-the-Water Training

*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Basic Boating Classroom Class

Houston Sail and Power Squadron, in partnership with Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, offers a 1-day boating safety course. Texas law requires everyone born on or after September 1, 1993 to complete a Boater Education course in order to operate a PWC or boat with a motor greater than 15 HP. This course meets that educational requirement.

“A TPWD certified boater education course and photo I.D. is required for any person
born on or after September 1, 1993 to operate: (1) a vessel powered by a motor of
more than 15 horsepower; or (2) a windblown vessel over 14 feet in length.
No person may operate a PWC or motorboat powered by a motor of more than 15
horsepower on the public waters of this state unless the person is at least 13 years
of age and has successfully completed a Boater Education Course or is supervised
by another person who: (1) is at least 18 years of age; (2) can lawfully operate the
motorboat; and (3) is on board the motorboat when under way.”

http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/faq/learning/boater_education/

America’s Boating Course™ – 3rd Edition (we call it ABC3) is the latest public boating course offered by the United States Power Squadrons, and includes seamanship, required equipment, state and federal regulations and rules of the road, emergency procedures and much more. It covers just about everything you need to get started, and is a great refresher for the more experienced boater.

HERE are some typical questions answered by the course.

2016 Schedule

Some classes are planned for Texas Marine located at 1107 I-45S, Conroe, TX 77301. A special map with instructions for parking will be provided to those who sign up.

Our Home Port business condo will be used on the third Saturday of each month from January through November. It is located at 6910 Bellaire Blvd. #15, Houston, TX 77074. Our Home Port is in the office park located behind Fire Station 51, which is at the intersection of Bintliff and Bellaire Blvd. in Bellaire. HERE is a map.

If you have physical obstacles to climbing stairs, sitting in a classroom watching presentation material, or hearing the instructor please contact so we can find a way to accommodate you.

The third location location is at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers project office near Wallisville. HERE is a satellite view of the area showing the location of the office building.

Following is the list of classes that will be offered in 2016.

Location Date
HOUSTON Sat Jan 23, 2016
CONROE Sat Feb 6, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Feb 20, 2016
CONROE Sat Mar 5, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Mar 19, 2016
CONROE Sat Apr 2, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Apr 16, 2016
HOUSTON Sat May 21, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Jun 18, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Jul 16, 2016
WALLISVILLE Sat Jul 30, 2016
CONROE Sat Aug 6, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Aug 20, 2016
CONROE Sat Sep 10, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Sep 17, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Oct 15, 2016
HOUSTON Sat Nov 19, 2016

Registration and payment in advance of the class is required. Cutoff is the Thursday evening prior to the class. Please use the Add to Cart buttons below to register and pay for your class and TPWD certification card (if one is desired) via PayPal. Near term class dates for your selection are listed in the drop down menu above the Add to Cart button below.

The TPWD certification card is, for those born on or after September 1, 1993, to show law enforcement officials that the holder is legally entitled to be driving a boat. For adults it is the means to obtain reduced boat insurance rates from some companies, to rent a boat where proof of having attended an approved boating safety course is required, and to boat in the waters of those states which require all boaters to have passed an approved course. The TPWD card is difficult to forge, valid as proof in all states except Connecticut, and it has no expiration date.

All classes start at 8:00 a.m. with enrollment and last until approximately 4:30 p.m. The minimum age for taking the exam for state certification is 12. There will be a break for a late lunch. You can either bring your lunch or go to a restaurant in the area. There are restaurants near Home Port and several near Texas Marine. It is even possible to make it to a restaurant and back to the Wallisville Project Office with your lunch obtained at a drive through window.

Note that there is an excellent, optional companion book to the presentations during the class which may be purchased for $39 before the class or after reviewing it during or after the class.

You may purchase tuition and TPWD certification cards for up to four people with one payment. After adding tuition to your Cart, remember to “Return to shopping” and add the TPWD certification to your Cart if you wish to purchase that. Click on the down arrow to the right of the visible menu item to see the entire menu.

Pay tuition for up to 4 people at one time

Texas Marine class dates


Pay tuition for up to 4 people at one time

Home Port class dates


Pay tuition for up to 4 people at one time

Wallisville class dates


Pay for up to 4 cards at one time

TPWD certification


Buy up to 2 books

Optional basic boating book


Please contact via e-mail or call 832-570-3663 if you have any questions.

Never Happens U-Tube video

Zebra Mussels U-Tube video