houstonhouston

Boating Seminars

USPS University – Seminar Series

These short seminars are targeted to specific topics and needs with a two-hour format, and valuable take-away guides (optional material). For HSPS members, each seminar provides credits toward the Boat Operator Certification program, and credit toward elective courses.

Seminars are held the second and fourth Thursday of each month from 7:00-9:00 PM. All classes are held at our classrooms (Home Port) located at 6910 Bellaire Blvd. #15, Houston, TX 77074.  This is near the intersection of Bellaire Blvd. and Highway 59.  Take Bellaire Blvd. east to the first traffic light beyond Highway 59, which is Bintliff Dr.  Our Home Port is in the office park located behind the fire station at the intersection of Bintliff and Bellaire Blvd.  Use the entrance from the interior parking lot.

You may register day of the class at our “Home Port”, directions listed above.

2013 Seminar Schedule

  • Thursday Jan 17, 2013, “Mastering the Rules of the Road”
  • Thursday Jan 31, 2013 “Using GPS”
  • Thursday Feb 14, 2013  “Using VHF Radio”
  • Thursday Feb 28, 2013 “How to Use a Chart”
  • Thursday Mar 14, 2013 “Fuel and Boating”
  • Thursday Mar 28, 2013 “Trailering Your Boat”
  • Thursday Apr 11, 2013 “Anchoring”
  • Thursday Apr 25, 2013 “Marine RADAR”
  • Thursday May 09, 2013 “Emergencies Onboard”
  • Thursday May 23, 2013 “Knots, Bends and Hitches”
  • Thursday June 13, 2013 “Partner in Command”
  • Thursday June 27, 2013 “PaddleSmart”
  • Thursday July 11, 2013 “Basic Coastal Navigation”
  • Thursday July 25, 2013 “Basic Weather and Forecasting”
  • Thursday Aug 08, 2013 “Hurricanes and Boats”
  • Thursday Aug 22, 2013 “Basic Coastal Navigation”
  • Thursday Sep 12, 2013 “Using GPS”
  • Thursday Sep 26, 2013 “Using VHF/DSC Radio”
  • Thursday Oct 10, 2013 “Onboard Weather Forecasting”
  • Thursday Oct 24, 2013 “Boating on Rivers Lakes and Locks”
  • Thursday Nov 14, 2013 “Sail Trim and Rig Tuning”
  • Thursday Nov 21, 2013 “Tides and Currents”

On the Water Field Trips to Galveston and Trinity Bays

To reinforce the classroom experience we include three on the water field trips each semester. These are low-key, fun outings on Galveston Bay in HSPS member boats. We have a varied fleet: small outboard runabouts, mid-size outboard center consoles, small daysailors, blue water cruising sailboats, large power cruisers and trawlers. The cost is free to all active HSPS students in classes, seminars or boating safety classes. To register contact Robert Campbell at or 713-594-1876.

  • Saturday September 29, 2013, 0800 – 1600
  • Sunday November 17, 2013, 0800 – 1600

For your information, Houston Sail and Power Squadron is a non-profit volunteer boater’s club dedicated to boater education.  If you have any questions about America’s Boating Course™ or our squadron, please don’t hesitate to ask, or take a look at our web site, http://uspshouston.org .   Also, check out our national web site: http://www.usps.org .

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Thanks,

Robert Campbell
Houston Sail and Power Squadron
Squadron Educational Officer
713-594-1876